German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
373 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am currently researching electronic collars. Here’s the reason why. My husband works on a large tree farm (65 acres) where Ruby has been allowed to run / get some good exercise in the past. But we don’t trust her. She has taken off into the neighbors horse paddock to chase the horses. Luckily there were no riders present at the time otherwise we could have a real problem. The neighbor was helpful but I am not so sure his boarders would be as nice.

Ruby has also headed down to the stream into an area that is hard for people to get to and then comes back up about 1/4 mile away. My husband has to jump in a truck and go find her.

At the farm I was thinking of training her with an e-collar to establish a range where she could run. Then letting my husband carry over from there.

The article I read is this- http://www.uwsp.edu/psych/dog/LA/castle3.htm

I am a public school teacher and will be finished in two weeks. I plan to work with Ruby all summer. I have been clicker training her for basic obedience and she is responding well to me. I am skipping the fancy tricks (like spin) and concentrating on the ones that I think are necessary for good behavior. And yes- "come" is definately on the list but she's not there yet.

I need to socialize her more this summer as that has not been completely done. She seems to have a very high pry drive and that kicks in a lot. I am hoping that with the clicker training I can take her out intot he neighborhood more- over to friends houses for short planned visits, etc.

The electonic collar would just be used at the farm for the purpose I described above unless and / or until I understand it more and think it would be helpful in other areas. Not sure.

We need to buy one. I am looking at the Cabellas website.

Any advice- thoughts? Does this sound like a logical purpose to use this type of collar?

·
Registered
1,083 Posts