German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a beginner and just starting a GSD search so excuse the potential ignorance of this question.

Is a working GSD different than a GSD bred to look a certain way? In other words if I'm looking for a working GSD then should I absolutely not consider a GSD from a breeder who is breeding for conformance?

I think I'm reading some posts that suggest that hips, drive, focus, intelligence, etc aren't quite good enough in a conformance dog to actually get working titles?

Any insight would be appreciated. If it's politically inappropriate to answer on the forum I'd still like to hear your opinions and I would appreciate a private message. It will be held in strict confidence.

Thanks! :)

·
Banned
31,833 Posts
The term is conformation.

Show breeders often only show their dogs in conformation and some do a temperament test, TT. What these breeders are doing is striving for dogs that win in the show ring. The dogs are bred with consideration of bloodlines. Some are bred very tightly on significant dogs, like Dallas (kinsmets sight for sore eyes), others are inbred father daughter, siblings, mother son to get the best chance at another champion. Others are bred very carefully and responsibly. But mostly, if ski slopes are in this year, than that is what they will breed for. A breeder breeding for show dogs will not get far if he cannot finish his dogs.

Some showline breeders, American and German and probably every country, but these are the two lines, I know a little about, some of these breeders do breed for the total dog in their opinion. They have a dog working toward their herding titles and championship concurrently. In our club we have a dog that either is a champion or only needs a few points, and also hold many, many herding titles. I think he was top herding dog last year -- could be wrong in that though.