German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I have been battling stress colitis in my pup now for several months. In fact, she has had stress colitis since she was a baby. I've heard two different opinions about it from the vet:

1) it is from the food that the dog eats and/or
2) it is from the dog being in a stressful situation.

Scouring the information on this site seems to yield the same two results as well. I have tried switching my pup to several different foods but haven't found one that works. Usually, my dog will start on a food and is fine (her stool is solid) but then a stressful situation occurs and bam! The latest switch was to THK about two months ago but this last episode of Stress colitis has been the worst I've ever seen my dog go through. She hasn't had a solid stool in two weeks even with meds that are supposed to firm her up.

The vet has her on antibiotics to try to help the GI tract but I'm at that point where I can't even socialize my dog without an episode flaring up. I was hoping to have her in classes by now for just basic obedience and training then graduating up to more fun/difficult classes that I hear everyone talk about on this page like Agility. She goes to one obedience class and she is a mess.

I would love to know everyone's opinion. I need any help or advice I can get because I feel like it's affecting her quality of life either way. Either A) she doesn't get to be out in the world experiencing all of the things with me and then she drives me crazy when I get home because what should mentally stimulate her and wear her out is not an option anymore or B) she gets to have those fun moments of being a dog and experience the world but it costs her in having horrible stools and not feeling 100% for at least a week or two.

·
Registered
149 Posts