German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought the forum's opinion would be the best answer to this question. Delta is closing in on 4 months. I have her enrolled in an obedience puppy class geared towards dogs that will go into competiton. My hopes are to pursue schutzhund training with her. I must admit I am a novice at this and am always open to suggestions.
I am to either have a prong or martingale collar for her.
Any thoughts on which would be best ?

Thanks,
Pam

·
Registered
2,184 Posts
At 4 months the martingale is great. Leave the prong off for another 6 months at least in my opinion. If you are looking to train in schutzhund have you found a club yet? If you have, does your trainer know about this puppy class? There are no "puppy classes" for schutzhund dogs, they pretty much get to chase rags and tugs and be goofy puppies. Inductive O.B., drive building, focus work, and FUN.

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. I don't have a trainer/club yet. There are 2 very good ones within an hour of home so I am researching them. I hope to go out, visit them and observe. I guess I am really not sure what I should be doing with a 4 month old. We have been doing a lot of rag play at home. I am doing this class more for socialization than anything. One of the things they are stressing is focus work. Just thought it would be a good place to start while I figure out the next move.

Thanks,
Pam

·
Registered
2,184 Posts
Pam,