German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not entirely sure if this is the right section or not, but... I've been looking for a Shepherd for awhile, I have lots of experience training/working dogs, but the time has never been right to get a new Shepherd. It is now (yay :D)

I came across the option to Co-own, and I was just curious to know more about it. Some Breeders I've looked into do co-owning, is it something, if I'm approved that's worth doing? As a Breeder, what's your opinion on it? From my understanding, it's taking a puppy that the breeder wants rights too, and basically fostering/raising/training/titling the puppy for the breeder.... Or something of that nature.

Any good/bad experiences with it?
Do you know of any breeders to look into who do it?

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,873 Posts
Different breeders do it for different reasons. You really have to talk to the specific breeder to know what they expect from a co-own.

·
Registered
572 Posts
Rush:

Speaking for myself and how crazy I am about my attachments to my dogs, I could never have a dog like that. My GSD is mine. He's all mine, and no one else can have him or co-own him, and no one else can tell me what he gets to do or not do. To me, it would be like co-owning a baby. I would suggest if you want to own one, that you own it completely and all the way.

·
Registered
14,344 Posts
Rush:

Speaking for myself and how crazy I am about my attachments to my dogs, I could never have a dog like that. My GSD is mine. He's all mine, and no one else can have him or co-own him, and no one else can tell me what he gets to do or not do. To me, it would be like co-owning a baby. I would suggest if you want to own one, that you own it completely and all the way.
I completely agree with this.

·
Registered
5,991 Posts