German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I’m no expert but it would seem unrelated. The only thing I can think of related is him pushing to hard to poop and putting strain on his eyes. Like we do.

·
Registered
9,353 Posts
Vet time.
Tear ducts are at the inner corners, can’t be that.
Tough to see from the picture, but it looks like a sore right next to his eye, and it needs to be treated right away. You don’t mess with eyes.

·
Registered
9,353 Posts
Do you have any Vetericyn or Puracyn? It is really good for all sorts of skin issues, and can be used near, and even in, the eyes. Be careful not to get any pus in the eye.

·
Registered
87 Posts
As someone who gets styes occasionally myself, I can tell you it isn’t a stye. They happen right at the base of an eyelash. And, my daughter had a clogged tear duct that required surgery, and it didn’t look like that, either. It was in the inner eye corner, where the tears come from. Her eye constantly watered and the whole eye was swollen.

I would guess some sort of blister that is infected and would get him to a vet. If you can’t get him in today, I think warm compresses are usually recommended. Since it drained some from the compress you used before, it seems like that is helping.
Take him to a vet, though. It likely won’t go away on its own, and could become serious and is likely uncomfortable.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Does he like to rub his face on things? I've had dogs get little pieces of plant matter imbedded in their skin and then have it get infected kind of like an ingrown hair

·
Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Does he like to rub his face on things? I've had dogs get little pieces of plant matter imbedded in their skin and then have it get infected kind of like an ingrown hair