German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to formal dog training so I've been reading up about different methods. I think I understand the concept behind the clicker method, but I was wondering if I would really need a clicker. Wouldn't just snapping my fingers work? It's not that clickers are so expensive or hard to find. I'm told you can find them in any pet supply store and that they are super cheap ($2-5). My problem is that I'd probably lose it or misplace it in the other room and be searching for it just at the moment that the puppy is doing the right thing. Which would defeat the whole purpose. What do you think? Could I use the same method but snap my fingers instead?

·
5,627 Posts
You could or you could use a marker word when the clicker isn't available. The reason the clicker is great is because it helps get the marker timing as close as possible to the right action whereas voice or snapping fingers might take a second or two longer. Also, there is research that the clicker speaks right to the learning center of the brain and really does help things sink in easier. It only needs to be used to jumpstart or refine behavior and not all the time. Once your dog demonstrates that they really know what you are asking, you stop with the clicker and start using random reinforcement.

·
Registered
2,683 Posts
I use a word marker (yes!) and that has worked wonderfully. Timing can be off with a clicker, word, sound, etc. so the main thing is the timing more than what you use, IMO.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I would think that your fingers would get sore and tired very quickly.
You're probably right. I'm setting up myself for carpal tunnel. ;)

I guess I could buy 20 clickers and have them scattered around the house, too. But that didn't work for the remote control. We have 5 of them and we lose them is about 5 seconds. ;)