German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have two 5 generation pedigree charts for the lineage of a litter we are looking at and was wondering if someone would be so kind as to take a look at them for me. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I received them as Chrome htm docs and don't know how to post a critter like that here. I figured I would send them in a PM.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes sorry! My first GSD was a free pup from a farm and I am just learning the ins and outs of this search we are on. I appreciate your patience.

Jade vom Kriegershaus

Rocky vom Heerbusch

·
Registered
19,451 Posts
A grand-dam on the dam's side is a half sister to my very first GSD (hopefully that makes sense). I owned a littermate of Carly.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thank you. I have not a clue what I am looking at and show lines is not what we are looking for. Is there an absence, in the working line pedigree's, of standard classically colored coats?

·
Premium Member
16,483 Posts
Thank you. I have not a clue what I am looking at and show lines is not what we are looking for. Is there an absence, in the working line pedigree's, of standard classically colored coats?
No, but it is less common in the working lines because sable is the genetically dominant color so it overrides black and tan. You also see more blacks in the working lines because it (recessive to black and tan) tends to be bred out of the showlines. The original dog registered as a GSD, btw, was a sable. For most working line breeders, color is inconsequential but it is important for show line breeders.

·
Premium Member
11,248 Posts