German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Font Rectangle Wood Paper Document

Hey, anyone who looks, I have a 5 y/o male who I got from an Amish breeder as a puppy. He has been healthy so far, besides shallow hip sockets per recent x-rays. I was 14 and was finally getting my dream dog, I didn't have any help so I didn't know anything besides looking at the dogs frame. Their dogs weren't health tested and there were other red flags that I can recognize now. I would really just like to know what kind of health issues I may be facing in the future and just overall, know more about his line and what makes him, him. I would love to know what region his line was from and if there are any notable names in it. I have tried to research his pedigree but didn't have time until I graduated college a couple days ago, now the research can commence! So if anyone has a second to look and give me your opinion on his pedigree I would greatly appreciate it!
Edited to add ss of pedigree
is this dog and the breeding something to be ashamed of? I’m proud of him but the breeding is not great and sort of embarrassing.

here is a link to part of his pedigree from pedigreedatabase.com

·
Registered
33,479 Posts
If you want to know the health of your dog then you should do a full Embark panel for genetic diseases and do hip/elbow xrays.

Then if you want people to tell you about the pedigree, you should provide it. Asking people to spend their time looking the dogs up and doing the pedigree research instead of providing won't get you very far. You can start by ordering a 5 generation pedigree from AKC. Take those names and look on pedigreedatabase.com

·
Registered
1,458 Posts