German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,369 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a couple of concerns with Lena, and since I'm not very experienced with conformation, can someone send me a message? I don't know if I should post more pictures again since I put probably too many out there. I just need some guidance on structure and things I should look out for.

·
Banned
5,124 Posts
There's really nothing you can do about conformation. What is your worry? Most GSDs don’t have “terrible” conformation. You might not win any shows, but it’s rarely crippling. Best thing to do would be to just post pictures, but at a young age…it’s hard to see some things.

·
Registered
1,369 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There's really nothing you can do about conformation. What is your worry? Most GSDs don’t have “terrible” conformation. You might not win any shows, but it’s rarely crippling. Best thing to do would be to just post pictures, but at a young age…it’s hard to see some things.
Well, maybe this is something that can be answered then...If you are looking at a GSD from the tail end, are the withers (if that is the right word) supposed to be sloped kind of like an oval, or squared off? I just didn't know if the shape of the hips could be an indicator of future issues...I hope that doesn't sound too dumb so my apologies if I am not explaining very well.

·
Super Moderator
16,941 Posts
The withers is the hump just above the shoulders - I think you mean the croup.

If your dog is still young, or underweight, the hip-bones will be prominent and give your dog a more squared rear-end look. Putting on weight and muscle will soften the lines.

The shape of the croup, or the prominenece of the hip bones have nothing to do with hip health - HD can only be diagnosed with X-rays, not by looking at the dog. Don't worry about having too many pictures, post a pic that illustrates well what you are talking about, and we can comment.

·
Registered
1,369 Posts