German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
770 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How often is too often to breed a female? I came across a breeder announcing a new litter and recalled the momma having pups just 5 months ago. It seemed really soon, but I am no expert. Just trying to increase my GSD knowledge. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
11,244 Posts
I hate seeing females bred season after season continuously for their reproductive lifetimes....it makes me sad for her...

I don't mind seeing an occassional back to back if the female is given a break before and after, and lives a life as a normal dog - not a puppy factory...I also know that a good producer who is a good and happy mother can stay in good physical shape and have pups at 8 years old - other females look worn out and old at 5 and can have had 6 litters by that age....

Unfortunately, in Europe, many many females are bred continuously until they fail to conceive....interestingly, in Denmark, females can only have 4 litters - period. They are not allowed to be bred after producing 4 litters.

Lee

·
Registered
2,175 Posts
"in Denmark, females can only have 4 litters - period."

That would put a serious hurt on the puppymills.

·
Registered
14,034 Posts
A lot depends on the breed. My friend breeds Irish Wolfhounds. Their ‘normal’ lifespan is only about 6-8 years and they are not fully mature until almost 3. So that doesn’t leave a lot of time for breeding. Some breeders will breed back to back to back (3 breedings) and that’s it.

Some people (and I am beginning to fall into that category) believe it is not natural for a bitch to go through heats without becoming pregnant.

But, it’s hard on a bitch to be pregnant all the time.

And, you want to see how the offspring develop so you can adjust your next breeding to decrease faults and increase desired traits.

So – what should a responsible breeder do?

·
Registered
14,034 Posts