German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be first time dog owner. Looking for working line.

Any thoughts on this pedigree

·
Registered
2,640 Posts
That is a far cry from the East German dogs you wanted before. What is it your looking to do with the dog? It’s rare that I say it, but I wouldn’t choose this as a first time dog owner litter unless you have someone very good to work with. Drive and aggression.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So what kind of working line is this GSD?
I’m aware of the drive and aggression. I’m looking for a family guard dog.

·
Registered
2,640 Posts
West German working line’s mostly. Just understand the type of dog you’re getting. If you don’t plan to be pretty active with it, you will be in for a lot of headaches.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Can you define active? I work 8hour shifts 3 times a day. I’m also an independent contractor I work on my own schedule certain days. I think I’m capable of being with the dog most of the time throughout the day.

·
Registered
2,640 Posts
I assume you mean 3 times a week, not day. You can be a working adult. I think it’s very rare the dog you can’t. It’s more about what you do with the rest of your time. This is the type of dog that will require lots of mental and physical stimulation. At some point you will probably also need to work on settling. There are threads here that talk about daily routines with dogs.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Can you define active? I work 8hour shifts 3 times a day. I’m also an independent contractor I work on my own schedule certain days. I think I’m capable of being with the dog most of the time throughout the day.