German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay so here's the deal.

I've been researching different lines for almost 2 years, I haven't owned a Shepherd in about 5 years, and she lived until she was eleven. She was a beautiful Sable girl, and we got her for around 900. Her hips were in good shape, she was healthy, happy and was ultimately everything you could ask for in a dog. She was also a working line. But because it was so long ago, I don't have the info for the breeder (if she is still even in business).

All the breeders I see, are going between 1200-5000+ for a working line puppy. I know this is the running norm, and I don't really have 1200+ Dollars laying around to dish out right this moment. Are there any breeders you can suggest that have lower prices? I know you pay for what you get, and that's usually a good quality dog, but is it just me, or does the price for quality seem to be skyrocketing nowadays? Yes, I'll probably get a lot of flak for this post, but oh well. Or what about breeders that do contracted payment plans? Believe me, I have no problem affording medical care/food/training ect- I simply do not have the big chunk of change sitting around to ship off to a puppy right now (Not to mention shipping if I go out of state)

What this dog would be for is Schutzhund, Or Search and Rescue, or whatever it's little working brain inspired.

Thanks for your help!

·
Administrator & Alpha Bitch of the Wild Bunch
13,571 Posts
Yes, you can find working line pups for less than the $1200 range, though it will require a lot more research and possibly compromise on qualifications of the breeding dogs (one parent not titled, for example) to find comparable quality.