German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,373 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is just a dream - I am going to start out by saying that. I am young, I have many years ahead of me, I do not have CLOSE to the amount of experience at all required to be a breeder, to even be considering it either. I haven't worked dogs to the extent that you guys do.

However, I am interested in learning. One day, I do think it would be nice to work dogs and breed them. I'm studying up on training, have visited the sch club in the area (though I don't like the club much, going to try elsewhere eventually). I want to better the breed, to become as fluent as a few of you all in studying a pedigree, considering pairings, predicting outcomes.

If someone could point me to some reads that you consider *essential* that would be awesome. Even if I never become a breeder (i most likely will not) I want to be a little more proficient at studying a pedigree for my next pup. Better yet, if anyone wants to just share experiences how they got started, their biggest challenge, what one lesson they wish they knew prior to doing it, that would be cool as well.

This is just for the sake of healthy discussion. I do not want to breed my current girl. I am not one of those people that's like "aww, having puppies will be fun!" I'm talking about a possible JOB when I am older, not some side project that only gets limited time, this would be only if I do not work elsewhere and had ALL DAY to work dogs and care for them properly.

so again, just discussion :)

·
Registered
19,451 Posts