German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So like the topic says, I am brand new to the German Shepard world. I absolutely love german shepards. They are beautiful dogs, and from what I have heard and read, very loyal.

A little about me. I am 23/yo guy who recently got out of the Marine Corps. I live in San Diego, CA. Have a house with my brother with a nice big backyard. And I am pretty close to a couple dog parks as well as a dog beach.

So, I really don't know much about GSD or how they are bred and stuff like that, so I'm wondering what I should be looking for? I know I want a puppy. I plan on training him/her (hopefully her) to be a PTSD service dog.

Does anyone know of any reputable breeders out here in SoCal? Maybe a good training facility that offers what I am looking for?

Like a I said, I am new at all of this so talk to me like I am a complete dummy lol.

I look forward to learning from all of you and I will keep you updated on my endeavors.

·
Registered
7,275 Posts
Welcome! I don't have breeder recommendations, but there are others who may. I think there are some active forum members near your area, hopefully they'll post soon with some ideas.

·
Registered
1,536 Posts
Welcome! You might want to check out the breeding section of the forum and get an idea of what kind of temperament you are interested in. I'd also try to find others with PTSD service dogs to get their input,

My son's a vet and while Havoc is not a service dog, he has been very helpful with my son's transition to civilian life. Havoc adores him. He's happiest when he visits and sleeps with him. The unconditional love and joy is a refuge from frustrations.

·
Registered
1,574 Posts