German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been in contact with Ivan's wife (I think it's his wife?) Natalia. I'm going to send my puppy to him for 4 weeks for an advanced board and train (on-leash training for now). I haven't had Sarge for that long, so I guess I just need some reassurance that I'm doing the right thing... 4 weeks is a long time to be away from my boy!

If given the chance would you guys jump at this opportunity? I hope I'm making the best choice.

·
Registered
1,834 Posts
I'm no expert, but I do know I could not do it even if it was the right thing. Once I HAD the pup. However, the pup I have right now was reared in a "puppy raising family" who trains and socialized dogs intended to work (SDs etc). So he had his basics and was used to kids, noises, traffic, other animals, (and getting tapped on the nose with a pen for some odd reason according to the log)

It was nice, and we still have a lot of training to do, but I will admit I did not mind not having to housebreak or to teach sit stay down and here. Had I had him though, I would not have been able to send him away even for a weekend during the bonding period lol

·
Registered
775 Posts
I'll likely be going this route soon myself. Waiting to hear back from Natalia. I last spoke to her just after Christmas and they were out of country. There's a lot of people who would love to train with Ivan. Everyone I've spoken to is jealous that I'm close enough to train with them. So absolutely you're right to do this. Ivan is one of the best in the entire country

ETA: just noticed you're in brooksville. Finally someone that can fully understand my frustrations with finding a good trainer

·
Registered
1,726 Posts
Nope. I'd save my money.

I think you might be getting a little starry eyed with Mr. Balabanov's, well-deserved, reputation.