German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since there seems to be some interest, I thought I'd create a new thread as a spin-off from Emoore's original posting:

I am still a newbie, and before I purchased my GSD I was very confused at all the conflicting information regarding the different 'types' of German Shepherds. I was hoping that this thread could break down the different characteristics based on each type so that people who do decide they want a GSD can make a more educated decision about which type would be best for them.

Such things I was thinking would be helpful to include are energy level, drive, level of affection, ability to do well with children/small animals, etc. I know this would be a generalization since each dog is different, but it would at least be a starting point.

For me, personally, I have no intentions of ever doing Schutzhund, SAR, herding etc. so for me, the question of "which type is best" would have nothing do with with their ability to become a SCH3 titled dog. I would want a dog who I could do obedience and agility with, but I think most any GSD has the intelligence and willingness to do these types of sports.

Now, I know many people on this board are dedicated showers/breeders/handlers/trainers, etc. who have a lot of knowledge and feel that the GSD should have a working purpose, and not just be a pet.

My question to you is: Is it wrong for someone who does not want to pursue Schutzhund, SAR, herding etc. but still wants a well bred GSD who is an outstanding example of the breed and has the desired personality? Very few dog breeds were originally bred to be companions - most that own Golden Retrievers don't use them to retrieve ducks and most Border Collies don't herd sheep daily.