German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4,763 Posts
Dad's definitely a blanket back, and the pup to me, from what I can see in that first picture, looks to be the same. True bi-color dogs seldom if ever have any tan showing anywhere other than the lower legs. They also have black penciling on the toes and tar heels (black fur on the lower black legs). But I'm no expert, so maybe someone else will chime in with a different perspective! Cute puppy!

·
Registered
32,379 Posts
She's darker because black and tan puppies change as the grow. The black will fade back leaving more tan.

Why did the breeder let you take him at 6 weeks?

·
Registered
855 Posts
Very cute puppy! Not bi-color, but if both parents are blanket black and tan, then she probably will be as well. Impossible at 6 weeks to tell how much the black will recede, but the parent's coloring should give you some idea about what to expect.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Dad's definitely a blanket back, and the pup to me, from what I can see in that first picture, looks to be the same. True bi-color dogs seldom if ever have any tan showing anywhere other than the lower legs. They also have black penciling on the toes and tar heels (black fur on the lower black legs). But I'm no expert, so maybe someone else will chime in with a different perspective! Cute puppy!
she has a bit of black on her paws which I thought she would be a bi-color! But I’ve talked to some people saying it might blend or fade away

Attachments

·
Registered
855 Posts