German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For personal reasons I have chosen not to spay Sheba until she is a year old, as a vet tech I know the risks and the precautions I will need to take when she goes into her first heat.
With that being said here is my concern. I live in a great neighborhood, just moved 3 months ago from the bottom of the street now to the top, that's how much we enjoy it here. All yards are fenced, each tied into the next meaning the left side of my fence actually belongs to my neighbor. He has 3 Pit bull terriors for breeding 2 intact males and a female. All live chained to their dog houses. When we first moved in he had a semi agressive male attached to the dog house next to the fence, after a few times of the Dachshunds being lunged at my DH asked if he could move the dog away from the fence line, instead he shortened the chain from 6 ft to 4, until the dog tried to eat his way out of the back of the fence, he then swapped it out with the nicer of the two males.

Now Sheba is 7 months old, should be going into heat fairly soon, and during that time I plan on keeping her leashed in the yard when out and only out long enough to potty. My concern is this driving his intact males insane, what is the best way to approach him and any suggestions, I just don't want a 65lb dog coming over the fence at me while I am out with her.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I guess you could let him know your concerns, hopefully he is a good neighbor and he will understand your concerns. If he isn't, you might have your hands full. I know this probally doesn't help but I don't know your neighbor

·
"I like Daffy" Moderator
3,276 Posts
Chlorophyll is a great way to reduce the odor of a female in season. Depending on how strong they are (I get mine at the health food store) you would give one or two a day from the time she first starts bleeding until four weeks later. It won't fix the problem, but it may make it better.