German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to raising a German shepherd puppy -- all of our previous dogs were adults or past the adolescent stage when we adopted them. Our new pup is 17 weeks old and is doing well. We went to the vet this week for his final round of puppy shots and the vet complimented him on both his health and demeanor. But he said, "Your puppy is very self confident. Be aware that when he hits adolescence, that can change into..." and he started listing a bunch of behaviors that frankly scared me. Growling, attempts at dominance, etc.

What was your experience with a GSD male going through adolescence? How did you handle it? Did they challenge more than they did as puppies? Or did your dog sail through with nothing more than the occasional teenage tantrum?

·
Registered
156 Posts
I've heard the same thing about adolescent dogs having some sort of "phase" but I didn't notice it with mine. He's still only 13 months, but he's never growled at me or anyone else and he's never challenged me in the way I've heard dominant dogs are apt to do. If there was any teenage behavior out of mine it was probably just him being more stubborn and sometimes ignoring commands until I made him follow through. Maybe he's not old enough to be in the clear yet, but I also don't recall having any of those issues with my other dog who is now 13 yrs old and definitely out of the woods for any adolescent phase.

·
Registered
1,995 Posts