German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8,690 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Delgado has always had issues with ignoring other dogs, he thinks all dogs are there to play with and get excited whenever he sees one. Mostly it's a excited bark or sometimes it's a whine and bark which seems to be caused by leaking drive. I've been walking him with a prong for this reason since he was 10 months old, more for control since I'm only 4'11" and he's a very strong dog while in drive especially

I've been working VERY hard on building neutrality using a combination of BAT and LAT with great results. I use treats, a small squeaky toy, a pop with the prong, or my voice to keep his attention on me rather then the other dog. I can get his attention and focus no problem with dogs behind fences even chain link when they can see each other. I can even get him within 5' of a barking lunging dog 95% of the time without him breaking eye contact. Still working on that 5' bubble but considering where he was 6 months ago and that he only just turned 14 months I've been content with his progress.

Now with all that said, it almost fell apart on our after dinner walk. I walk a dog on each side, so the leashes don't get tangled and I have separate control on each. When we came to the end of our driveway I could see a neighbour walking their small dog (Lhaso I think?) on a flexi leash coming down the road. I headed the opposite direction to start our walk, but only a minute or so in I could feel Jazzy tensing and I glanced behind to see the man walking behind us, maybe about 15' back. Jazzy is very nervous around strangers and dogs especially so I sped up to reach a clear spot off the sidewalk to stop (we still have quite a bit of snow left, there was maybe 2' of grass off the sidewalk in this particular spot). I would have used the road to gain extra space but we were on a main road and there were lots of cars driving by.