German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!
I am so grateful for this site - I've only asked a question once before (and THANK YOU to everyone who responded and I'm sorry if I didn't thank you directly) but I lurk and have learned so much. I am brand new to the GSD and am reading, watching, and learning everything I can.

I have an almost 11 month old GSD. She is a beautiful girl but quite a handful. We started out with clicker training and she was crate trained. She knows sit, down, stay, paw, touch. She will come only "if she wants to" and her “leave it” is not good, in other words a quick tug on leash and she leaves it, but if she doesn't want to and I have no way to enforce the rule she does what she wants. No accidents in her crate and we keep her in an x-pen in the house with us in the family room. If she comes out she is on leash so we can keep a close eye on her. She gets lots of exercise - both “structured” and “fun go sniff” walks and we have a pretty big backyard where she runs around free but someone is always with her to keep an eye on her. We do tug and her “drop it” is fairly reliable and she loves flirt pole. If she decides not to "drop it" when I tell her the game is over. We’ve done group classes at a PP/FF place for the basics. Very low food drive (completely different from our previous dog - a lab). She was almost impossible to walk (super strong and lunges, growls, and tries to attack cars & I've read the threads on here and tried everything) but we finally introduced the prong (after watching numerous YouTube videos and talking with a private trainer AND after I sprained my hand and developed cervical neuralgia in my neck and head from her pulling/lunging) and now walking her is SO much better for everyone.