German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Total Newbie here, trying to do the best we can....

Trainer said its fine to leave training (prong) collar on all day. I would never leave her in crate or unattended with it on. We were out back doing a burn pile, she was just resting. The neighbor, with two friendly dogs came to the fence between our houses. Xena ran over to greet them, put her paws on the top wire and got her collar caught in the wire. She was screaming bloody murder, we were right on it. Seemed to take forever to release her, probably 2 minutes! We have a quick release Prong collar, without that, not sure what we would have done, ran for a wire cutters I guess. Somehow my hands, both of them ended up in her mouth so the rest of the day was spend in ER. Stitches on one hand (finger) and the other was chomped on pretty good, like half a dozen puncture wounds! Xena is fine, my wife got a few marks as well. Tetanus shots, antibiotics and lots of ice today! Lessons learned. No need to have her training collar on unless we are using it!

·
Registered
1,423 Posts
Ugh.. can't believe your trainer told you to leave the prong on all day. That's crazy. So sorry you and your dog went through that! Be careful as well leaving a prong collar on if two dogs are playing or greeting, I've heard plenty of stories of the other dogs teeth getting caught in the prong during play and it then turns into a locked on death match. Whenever we have a loose dog run up I am always quick to take off my prong and switch to the flat collar.

·
Registered
44 Posts