German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 16 week old puppy playing with my 5 year old Westie. This is about normal play for them. Sometimes a bit more rough sometimes less.

I don't remember if I captured it here but sometimes he will walk up and turn around and back his butt into her and push her around with it. What's going on there?

Does this seem like appropriate play to allow between the two? I've had dogs my whole life but this is my first time with two dogs in the same household. I want to make sure they do well together as he continues to grow and mature.

https://youtu.be/uD_AQHB31IM

·
Super Moderator
5,870 Posts
Looks like they're playing nicely together.If they ever get overly stimulated and rough,just separate them for a while for some down time.Backing into another dog or even a person, is a herding behavior.An instinct to protect their important body parts(eyes,ears,mouth).Almost like when someone jokingly throws something at your face,your turn away and cover your head automatically:)

·
Registered
4,494 Posts
Great video and great looking GSD pup.