German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The percentage The Seeing Eye provides is only 65% of seeing eye dogs in training pass all requirements, but the rest go into other services or live on as family pets.

I'm curious if anyone in the forum has personal experience or knows how any of those dogs are doing post career change.

Thanks in advance!

·
Super Moderator
6,286 Posts
I’m a guide dog mobility instructor at a comparative school..... not entirely sure what you’re asking? but I’m available to discuss.

·
Registered
4,905 Posts
A friend is a service dog trainer and has kept a few who washed, but they are not German Shepherds. Her dogs make very good pets. They are low key, mellow dogs.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
@eddie1976
I looked up FIDELCO adoption fees, and wow. TSE dogs are only $1000.
@Fodder
I wanted to hear some first- or second-hand knowledge of how the dogs do in their new positions. I see a few veterans at the VA with some type of service dog--some not as well behaved as others. I can PM soon if that's a better way to communicate.
@LuvShepherds
Good to know! I know my fiance likes a mellow dog, but I think we could fit in a high energy one easily.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
@Fodder
Just interested in hearing first- or second-hand stories about the dogs that washed. Their temperament, trainability, activity level, etc.. Of course, at your discretion.

·
Registered
9,731 Posts