German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My pup has had one round of shots from the breeder. Distemper, parvo and adenovirus. I am personally against vaccines for many reasons I won't go into here but I have limited knowledge on puppy vaccines. I believe most of what I've read concerns adult dogs.

Has anybody only done one round of vaccines with their pup? I honestly am worried about vaccinosis occurring from over vaccination. Though I HATE this fear motive instilled into people about "if you don't vaccinate, she'll get sick and die!" Which I don't believe but is like to hear some experiences and get some preemptive naturals on hand, or even cures.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
9,728 Posts
Parvo is no joke.
Neither are the other illnesses for which dogs are vaccinated.
Vaccinate your dog, and titer after she acquires immunity if you don't wish to over vaccinate, but honestly, not doing so is playing Russian roulette with your dog's health.

·
Premium Member
16,483 Posts
No, I don't think even Dr Dodds recommends that.

One vaccination will do nothing for them; you need two given about 3 weeks apart.
The one given by the breeder is probably a wash due to maternal antibodies.

You can give two DAPP separated by the right time after the pup is about 10 weeks then about 3-4 weeks later pull a titer (all you can get on the titer is distemper and parvo that I know of but those are the likely ones). Dodds recommends a booster 1 year later then be done with it. The modified live virus in most DAPP vaccines is not one likely to cause reactions. It is the killed vaccines with adjuvant that are the most reactive (like the rabies vaccine which you must give, by law)

A lot of pups on this forum have caught parvo. It is a deadly disease. I did my titer after I boostered 1 year post puppy series.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4