German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all-I'm new to to Germanshepherds.com and thought I would see what other owners thought of the problem we're facing with our sweet, loveable Blue. Blue is a 15 month old male German Shepherd with one floppy ear. This ear has been up and down since about he was about four months old....so sometimes it stands but mostly it is down. We've tried the tee-pee gluing method, the spongeroller gluing method, the earform method. We've given him gelatin, yogart, we feed him Blue Buffalo Dogfood. He's gone through chew bones, chew toys, we've taken him to interesting places to activate the muscles in his ears and stimulate them to stand up (we live near the beach and he loves looking at seagulls and jumping in the water!) He's gone to doggy day care on a regular basis to have fun with other dogs and we only put him in his crate for short periods of time since I work out of my home. In other words--we've tried just about every recommended thing! So I'm wondering if anybody else out there has had the same problem and if their dog had their ears come up after turning a year old. The weird thing is that lately, his ears come up more often than they used to and stay up for longer periods of time. Are we just dreaming that his ears will ever come up and stay up? Blue pic # 1.jpg

blue pic @2.jpg

·
Registered
475 Posts
Check out Shadow's pic's She is 15 months old to now. Her ears have been up and down like your boys, and as you say more recently up more often. Mostly though they are down (sort of a comb over lol)
Shadow's seam to be up more when she is being really alert, which probably explains why they are up more often now, she's maturing and showing a different interest in her surroundings.
I'm not holding my breath now for permanently up ears. :)

·
Registered
266 Posts
Does it really matter? I think its cute and unique. Frodo's dad had one floppy ear.

·
Registered
15 Posts