German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As you might have read from an earlier thread, I recently adopted a 1yr old GSD with a very sweet temperment and pretty mellow activity-level. I have wanted to get a pot-bellied pig for many years although I have no experience with them. I may have come across one that needs to be rehomed but first I want to make sure that...

1. My dog gets along with the pig
2. No diseases can cross onto each other
3. That a pot-bellied pig can fit in my life

If anyone has any advice or suggests resources that would be great & appreciated.

My dog:

My possible future pig:

***P.S. NO...I'm not crazy!***

·
Registered
1,744 Posts
Honestly, that’s hilarious! I met a pet pot-bellied pig and loved her. Will the pig live inside the house or in an outside enclosure? I’m not sure how a dog and a pig would get along, but I would be worried about either of them hurting the other.

You may try to see how your dog reacts to a pig before you bring one home. Maybe have them meet through a fence so nobody can get hurt? At least that way you could see any immediate reaction, but your dog may react totally differently when you bring a pig into your home. If you do adopt the pig, I would suggest you never, ever let the dog and pig together unsupervised, no matter how comfortable they seem with each other!

·
Registered
2,025 Posts
I probably have nothing constructive to say because pigs are absolutely not my idea of a good house pet.

But- are you sure you want to complicate things at the moment, so soon after you adopted your dog?

Pigs are mean. The revert back to "wild boar" in just a generation or so- from domestic fat pig to tusk-growing, mean, hairy beasts.

I wouldn't do it, but I don't like pigs.

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)