German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 93 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

This is my first time to this site and i registered just to share my story and hopefully get some feedback.

My GSD, Baxter, is approximately 5 years old, and my wife and i have had him for 4 years. We adopted him from a reputable rescue organization that my wife has volunteered with ever since.

We met Baxter at the booth of the rescue org at a "pet expo" and fell in love with him. They let him out with us and he just curled up to me....long story short they brought him for a home visit later that week and we adopted him after he was neutered.

My wife and i both had GSDs as children and loved them, and felt like we knew them. Neither of our childhood dogs showed any aggression, and they weren't trained at all, at least not that we saw.

We quickly learned Baxter had separation anxiety and that it would be impossible for him to be home alone while we were at work. I began bringing him to work (luckily i have that option) and he has a big crate in my office and we go out and walk a couple times a day.

At first Baxter was just shy, unsure, but loving to us. We signed up for obedience classes and went through two levels. He sits, stays, etc, and goes to his big crate when we ask.

About 6 months in he randomly bit my uncle on the backside after my uncle had been petting him. He got up and walked away and Baxter kinda chased him down and nipped him on the butt. Didn't break skin. We chalked this up as a fluke.

Months later he nipped my wife's father at home during a holiday visit. Again no skin broken, father in law was in the middle of telling an animated story and Baxter seemed to be telling him to calm down.