German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, been thinking about this for a really long time now (even more now that I'm looking for my own dog and have been watching the Urgent board etc) and thought I'd get some opinions. I have read the other threads on this subject here and on the other forum, but as my situation/question is a tiny bit different, I thought I'd post and ask and hope it's not redundant! :rolleyes:

I've been playing with the idea of "starting a rescue" - though it would be a tiny one - one dog at a time. I've been a dog trainer for a long time and would love to pull a dog from a high kill shelter, train him while he lives with me (obedience, housemanners, housebreaking, etc), then place him well. I'd concentrate on GSDs, but would likely also deal with mixes and the occasional small breed as well.

Now, I know the question is, why don't I just foster for an already existing group. The biggest answer is that I'd like to be able to help pick which dog I was going to foster - and I cannot find a group that allows fosters to "help" with the pull decisions or even suggest dogs. (And please, know that I totally understand this - it's not the way rescues and fosters work - I really do get it. If I had my own rescue I wouldn't be letting the fosters pick their dogs either I'm sure! I'm just saying that being able to handpick the dog is one of the primary draws of having it be my own.) I would, for a lot of reasons (financial mostly!) far rather work with an existing group. I think it's the smarter way to go, especially since this would be a 1 or 2 person operation, neither person wealthy. But...