German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all.My one year old has always been a picky eater.she just never seems interested in food.amyways last night and this morning she threw up twice, yellow frothy stuff,small amounts.from trawling these forums consensus seems to be its bile acids from an empty stomach (she refused food the night before).I will take her to a vet tomorrow to confirm this anyway and get a good check up. reading through, it seems a lot of people have had good outcomes by giving picky eaters probiotics. What sort do you give them (is it the human stuff, as in yoghurt,or something else?)? what doses, what brands are good etc. I am in Australia and would like to try something natural rather than medicating her, but am a complete novice on the subject.
Any help much appreciated.

·
Premium Member
16,483 Posts
Kefir is wonderful and I did search and you can find them there. You make it yourself and it is very very easy to make.

But I don't know about the picky eater thing.

·
Registered
5,798 Posts
In addition to probiotics, have you considered a digestive enzyme product, like Prozyme? It seems to help settle the tummies of some dogs I've fostered, as well as my own. It believe it's different from, but complementary to, using a probiotic.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks both. No i havent considered prozyme, am a complete novice at this probiotic diet thing so i may try with the keffir first and see how we go. Have found a place nearby that sells it.
Does anyone give their dogs just plain yoghurt as well and does that help? Zara loves licking out the yoghurt tubs, but have never actually put any in her food, was thinking of trying this too.She doesnt seem to have any lactose intolerance, loves milk in moderation.

·
Registered
16,649 Posts