German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's my initial post for some background information.

Long story short, my parents are letting me take their 1-year 8-month-old GSD (who I am very closely bonded to) home to live with me about 3 hours away on a trial basis. I've never done anything like this before, and I'm very excited (and a little anxious!). I would never want to do anything that would decrease her quality of life or cause her any distress. She's been my world since my parents got her last year, and I'm so excited to bring her home. I want this to be an easy transition for her.

I'm going to keep her routine and environment as similar and familiar as possible. I've ordered the same size crate, similar toys, same type of food, etc. The biggest difference is that I live in a one-bedroom apartment, so that will be an adjustment for both of us. But I'm very active (I run about 30 miles a week and walk at least 3 miles/day). So while she won't have a backyard, I do plan on keeping her active and getting her out of the house much more than she is now. Thankfully, I live in a city with a lot of dog-friendly establishments.

These are my biggest concerns or questions that I'm hoping I can get some insight on from the community:

1. While she's used to being in her crate while my parents are at work, this will be a different environment for her. I have the same size crate and plan to give her a Kong with peanut butter when I leave for work (just like my mom does). I'll have a Wyze cam to monitor her throughout the day. I also work just around the corner from my apartment, so I can come home at least once a day to let her out. Are there any other steps I can take to make the transition easier?
  2. Eventually, I plan to take her to daycare one day each week to give her a change of scenery/time outside of her crate. Should I wait a few weeks before enrolling her?