German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
[Please note that this topic has been moved to Bloodlines & Pedigree and the poster is seeking input on the pedigree of the litter listed below.]

Hi all,

I have been in contact with a breeder and they have so far been outstanding, extremely helpful and have assisted in finding the right dog for me.

I wanted to get expert advice on the the litter below, the breeder will soon pick out the most suitable puppy from the litter. My plan is to use the dog for avalanche rescue training, mountain guiding and potentially IPO1. I prefer a high drive and a dog that is not afraid of new situations. Visually I want a heavy-boned dog, blocky and large face. I have little experience with titles, DNA and line breeding and was looking to you for some help.

Vello x Rue (first litter from top)
or
SIRE // Pedigree Database
DAM

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts

Thank you,
S

·
Registered
182 Posts
There are several concerns for me. It appears their background is in cattle. Cattle can be mass farmed, but GSD'S should not be. Way to many dogs for breeding and current litters for me. I like smaller breeders. They appear to import and then breed. Nothing wrong with that, but most breeders do that small scale and with reference to bettering their breeding program.

Three big passes for me:
1. They breed dogs for police. Where are these dogs and their police handlers as proof? They should be showing these as brags or proof of quality. Titles they have put on dogs themselves?

2. Language used in site is worrisome pertaining to protection, guard, police dogs section. Also, how are guard and protection dogs ready "for immediate " delivery? Is there screening of homes?