German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! My name is Calla and My GSD is Heidi. I am a 21 year old Nursing student, and she is an 8 month old cutie! and we need your help and advice! :)

Well from everything I have read Heidi is just a typical GSD. And she is a velcro shepherd and I love it! I got her to feel safer at home and for my little beagle a playmate. Although, my beagle stays outside and Heidi stays inside or wherever I am. Watching them play is priceless because Heidi towers over the little guy. Heidi is 8 months and I have had her for one month. She is wonderful and very protective but her downfall is she is fearful, oh and not to mention our last vet appointment ended in her having to be sedated. My heart aches for Heidi because she is so intelligent and loving toward my family and I. I have got to find a way to get her socialized and trained. I am a college student so I have a lot of free time to work with her but I just do not know what to do, and that is why I came to this forum.

Heidi has been to the vet twice now. The first time went relatively well we had our male doctor and a young female vet technician, like me. Heidi was fearful but liked the young female vet tech. She got all her shots, blood work, and heartworm preventive and away we went. During this visit she never ever acted aggressive just fearful.

The next time we went to the vet it was a different story. I was taking her there to get spayed. This time there was a male vet tech and the same doctor, and she lost it. She became aggressive growled, had to be muzzled, and sedated. And she defecated and urinated all over everyone. I was devastated for Heidi. I have never seen her act this way.