German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
683 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All good breeders with waiting lists were newbies at one time. Just wondering, where do you recommend advertising your litter? Is it really terrible to advertise puppies in the newspaper if you are screening your potential homes? Do you advertise on any specific websites?

·
Registered
932 Posts
I used the newspaper as last resort, and I have gotten some really great homes from that, I did the screening, contracts and followups and even 4/5 years later I am still in contact with most of my first litter, I used hobbly.com and puppy find and http://www.qualitydogs.com/ I am still a newbie with only having 4 litters but everyone of the homes I have been very happy and pleased with and couldn't ask for better homes.

·
Registered
31,877 Posts
I have gotten good homes out of the newspaper. My vet has recommended me to several of the people that have my puppies. My sister continues to get her friends and work people to buy my pups. AKC listing has gotten me a couple of nibbles. Local GSD club has netted me nothing. My friend who is also breeding GSDs has sent a few people my way. Being out with my puppies/dogs and being at shows has netted me a home or two.

·
Super Moderator
18,686 Posts
Word of mouth. I have never advertised a litter.

·
Registered
19,451 Posts
I'm not a breeder but I FOUND my breeder through word-of-mouth. I was looking into getting a rescue GSD and someone in rescue told me about her. I've never seen her dogs advertised anywhere. Sometimes the planned breedings are on her site or a picture of both parents and then the number of pups with the birthdate but that's it. Even so, the demand always exceeds the supply.

·
Registered
31,877 Posts