German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I'm Chloé, mum of a 4 yo Boxer/Griffon mix, and getting ready to offically adopt a 15 months old GSD/Bouvier des Flandres mix that I've been fostering for the past 4 months.
(Please note: my mother tongue is French, so I may sound a bit weird at times)

Long story short, I'm 33 yo, I've been obsessed with dogs my whole life, I adopted my first pup 4 years ago, and I started fostering rescue/RSPCA/association dogs a couple of years ago (this cute GSD/Bouvier named Buck that I'm now willing to adopt is my 4th foster dog).

I got to love him with my whole heart despite his one and only behavioral issue: REACTIVITY to other dogs.
This is actually a bit ironic since I'm definitely not a GSD person originally, I'm more into the "molossian" type/laid back/quiet dogs.
And considering my lifestyle, a reactive dog is king of the worst think that could happen to me 😅
I'm the relaxed type of girl who likes to stroll around without constantly be "on watch" (I take the dogs everywhere and I never had to deal with real reactivity before)

So I'm here to talk about GSD behavior and hopefully find testimonies and tips about that type of reactivity.
I'm lucky to be in touch with a great trainer and GSD lover who's already put me on the track. I've been doing intense immersion/correction sessions these past few days (had a first appointment with my trainer last Saturday, where Buck got to work with 6 of his own dogs) and I'm already seeing progress.
I thought it might help to also get in touch with other GSD owners to keep up the good work and stay motivated!
I should probably point out that Buck is totally social, there's no socialization issue with him. It's just stupid blind/binary reactivity when he sees another dog he cannot get to.

Hope we can talk and share stories :)

Thank you!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you drparker!