German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I adopted this sweet guy 2 days ago at the local humane society. They said he was a GSD mix... what do you think? He has a completely black tongue... Any info would be helpful!

·
Registered
308 Posts
He's handsome! And he sure looks like a GSD - I'm no expert but I don't recognize any other kind of dog in there! Have fun:)

·
Registered
381 Posts
Looks like 100 percent GSD to me.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah, I thought so! The humane society had him listed as a mix. I adopted him for $40, can you believe that? I have been looking for a GSD rescue for months! He is just the sweetest thing. Great with my kid, cats, and chickens. I am so lucky! His name is Rocco... he has canine flu from being at the dog pound, but we have a vet appt. tomorrow. Luckiest lady in Tacoma! :wub:

·
Registered
5,520 Posts
Thanks for saving this guy!

If by canine flu you mean runny nose, goopy eyes and a hacking cough...it's likely a form of kennel cough that's ultra-common in shelters. It's basically a bad cold. Some dogs benefit from a round of antibiotics if there's a bacterial component. Many kick it on their own. I've had great success with foster dogs who have it by adding organic, unrefined coconut oil to their diets at the first sign of illness. This article might be helpful:
Remedies for Kennel Cough - Whole Dog Journal Article
br {mso-data-placement:same-cell;}
Good luck! Congrats on your beautiful new dog. What's his name going to be?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #10