German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
989 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to fostering but not new to dogs or training. That said what are your training goals for foster dog? (a typical no major issue dog)

So far I have tried to instill some basic manners (sitting before being fed and coming in a door, walking nicely on a leash, etc). And because a dog could get adopted at anytime, what are the first things to work on? I'd like to work on things that will make the dog more appealing to potential adopters. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
16,649 Posts
Here's what I work on with fosters:

Come
Sit
Down
Stay
Leash Walking
Off (the furniture, people's bodies)
Focus
Choosing appropriate things for toys!

If they can go to their new homes with those understood I figure they've got a great foundation!

·
Registered
12,442 Posts
When we had fosters, we would work on the very basics: good manners around the house and people (not jumping up, getting off furniture, etc.), walking on the leash, sit, down, stay, and come.

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
To the above lists, I would add house and crate train. Also try to socialize with different people and sounds around the house and in the neighborhood.

·
Registered
5,483 Posts
For us it's priority one: crate training and housebreaking, playing well with others, off and leave it

Then basic manners: Don't pull on the leash, no jumping, no counter surfing.

Then training: Sit (and stay), watch me, down (and stay), come

Usually that's all I have time to do and of course they can get adopted somewhere during that process but normally I've got the first two down and have trained sit and watch by the time they go. I've taken a couple through obedience classes when I felt like they needed the extra work or their breed made the standard higher (typically rambunctious Rotties).

If we're talking puppies, then I'm more focused on socialization with people and dogs and then housebreaking.