German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am new to this forum but have been reading on it for the past few months!
I am a new GSD owner and very excited. I have been doing research and preparing for the last six months and last Sunday was finally my lucky day. :)
I adopted a 6 week old female GSD her name is Skylar. :)

First off, she had a wellness check at the vet a few days after I brought her home. She said it sounded like she may have a mild murmur but it could be gone by the next appt? That kind of made me wonder, should I be worried?

Another thing Ive been wondering is this, She mouths not terribly but often and she likes to 'talk'. She doesn't really whine at night (unless having to go potty) or when she is crated for a little during the day. She is a very good puppy but since being new to the breed I was curious, this land shark stage, at what point do you become concerned with the mouthing as a form of aggression? I redirect her with a toy when she does it to us.

As far as the talking go I haven't done much about it. I really just don't put her down or pick her up till she stops for a few seconds.

Also, as far as training when should I start obedience? She follows me around outside now, and I tried some sits with some of her food today and she did really well.

I did some brief temperament tests when I picked her out and she seemed most neutral of the litter? The other two were either too dominant and the other so submissive she looked fearful. She however seemed pretty happy medium.
Any advice? I really just want her to grow up to be a respectful happy girl. I don't want to mess her up.

Please give me any nuggets of wisdom you may have! :) It is so appreciated.

·
Registered
1,429 Posts
She is so very young. She needs a lot of contact and gentle handling right now. Try to find a puppy kindergarten class that you can start when she's old enough.