German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys this is my first time on a forum. I want to hear your thoughts / comments on my girl I rescued from a shelter in August 2019. She's estimated to be 5, and has some grey as she is all black with brown paws. All I know is she was a lost and found and the owner signed her over when the shelter contacted him.

-Someone worked with her wherever she was because she is very obedient. She is also very loyal and sweet.

-Stubborn with toys as she won't drop them unless you spend a while giving her commands and patience.

-Often growls at my young boy cat when he walks near her but she has never chased him nor has her fur ever stood up when growling. It's more of a low pitched growl.

-Pees a little when told to sit but she does not do it every time.

there are other quirks I could list but that's all for now. I can list other things if anyone comments. All in all though she is a very smart/loyal dog and I am very lucky to have her.

thoughts on the growl with the cat / peeing when told to sit?

·
Registered
2,862 Posts
Welcome, how lucky you both found each other. My youngest girl grumbles and talks, about everything. Maybe that is your dog's version of chatting especially since she doesn't chase or agitate the cat. The peeing could be submission, so hard to tell with a rescue.

·
Registered
279 Posts
I don't think dogs always get along with cats. Sorry but it just doesn't always work out.

The peeing is the dog being a bit shy or submissive. It is not uncommon. I would recommend being relaxed when you give the sit command to try and prevent the urination.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Welcome, how lucky you both found each other. My youngest girl grumbles and talks, about everything. Maybe that is your dog's version of chatting especially since she doesn't chase or agitate the cat. The peeing could be submission, so hard to tell with a rescue.