German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am planning on hiking a 30-40 mile hike, camping along the way. I am new to hiking with my GSD, but I have a doggy backpack for him to carry. He should be 9-10 months old when the we do the hike and the vet gave clearance for that kind of activity. My questions are what tips do some of the more experienced owners have on hiking with your dog, and what do you pack for a 3 day backpacking trip to stay light weight?

·
Registered
3,742 Posts
I would not load up a pack for a pup until at least a yr old and then slowly begin adding weight. AbbyK9 from this board has a fantastic post on this topic ( Abby K-9 )

are you hiking this summer or in cooler months? How many miles a day are you going with your pup now? just like a human would need to, your pup needs to build up to hiking that far

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It will be in the fall, and very close to the 1 year mark. I am not planning on him carrying more than a water bottle in each side for his water when he is unable to get to a creek for hydration. We are trying to plan the hike so it isn't real hot, or real cold.

My main question is what other items do I need, or would be helpful?

·
Registered
1,874 Posts
don't worry about weight. the main concern with puppies is the joints/bones and the impact of jogging/running with them on a hard surface. you'll be walking and on a soft surface (dirt, grass etc...) so you're all good there.

I use "porta bowls" they are small, collapsable and extremely light weight. I think the company that makes them is called "Outward Hound". but im sure you can find them anywhere online.