German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! 2 more weeks until we bring our puppy home! To prepare for our little guy I have used a system where each week since we were told he was born I have bought something else we will need for him. This week I am buying a crate with a divider but, in order to get that free 2 day shipping from Chewy.com I need $10 more in my cart. So I decided I'd buy a leash or 2. One I have is a drag leash and while looking I saw the 20 foot and longer leashes. I was wondering what everyone uses their 20 foot leashes for. I know sometimes it is used for recall training but, I have no experience in that. Our past dogs never ended up needing that training. They never left far from our side and if they happened to stray a little too far they have always been very obedient. Hopefully this guy is no different, but I was just wondering what different types of uses you all get out of these 20 foot or longer leashes; or how you did go about training with it?

Attachments

·
Registered
2,123 Posts
I have a long leash for recall training...that's the only thing I use it for. If I didn't have a fenced yard, maybe I'd use it to let the dog wander around looking for a potty spot.

·
Super Moderator
4,821 Posts
I have a 30 ft leash that I use occasionally for sport training but to be honest, the handiest leash I've used besides a selection of 6 ft leashes is our 15 ft. It is a good length to give my dog a bit more freedom of movement without being a mess! I use it attached to a harness when I need to keep my dog on leash but want to give them the freedom to explore, or when we are working scent trailing. For other sports like IPO tracking, they require 30 ft.

·
Registered
5,931 Posts
Sabi had a 6' and a 15' that I used at work. Shadow has a 25' that I use to let her play since she cannot be off leash totally. I used a 20' foot for Bud when he was tracking.