German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I’m a first owner of a gsd this is new to me but i been doing research on gsd and I been working hard on it my girl Skyler is smart and getting smarter I started training her to do tricks and some command s but now last Saturday she’turt 13 week s old she’ was doing so much better with the land sharks but now out of the blue she barks and growls at me and my husband even snaps at us I put her in the crate with no toys and when she’s out she does it again my husband gets home around 5pm and I work every other day but not anymore tomorrow I will be home all day but I still have thangs I half to do and Skyler loves to ride in the truck but not all places let dogs come in and when I get home I let her out And she screams and jumps on me and then pees I’m just so new to this gsd is a lot of work but I love her so much and would never give up on her just lost what to do next ?

·
Registered
12 Posts
What i have learned so far (since this is also my first gsd), keep them mentally and physically motivated. We let Odin get used to the house for two day's after that we started teaching him commands and house rules. Indeed there were times i wanted to pull my hairs out but just remain calm and patient sometimes you just think it's useless. But by just being calm and patient and rewarding her for good behavior it will all come in time.

But give her the attention she needs like @konathegsd said. She is just snapping at you trying to say hey play with me, im bored!

If Odin isn't showing the correct behavior and biting i just softly push him away and i calmly say "no Odin this isn't how a good dog behaves" 9/10 times he will calm down. But let's not forget that they are still puppies and need to feel secure and loved. I am definitely not an expert, but so far i learned a tired satisfied puppy is a good puppy :).