Your favorite focus heeling resource? - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:10 PM Thread Starter

Your favorite focus heeling resource?

My 6 month old can do a decent heel for a short time, yet I can't get the "dog-constantly-staring-up-at-owner" flow, and she would lose her focus after a while or with a distraction. How do I get her to focus on me instead?

Any tips? I am a beginner in real obedience, and I currently use high value treats because she is not very interested in balls. Is this something that is supposed to get better on its own after puppy grows up and becomes more connected to owner?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:34 PM
No Stinkin' Leashes Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by HelloWorld314 View Post
Any tips? I am a beginner in real obedience, and I currently use high value treats because she is not very interested in balls. Is this something that is supposed to get better on its own after puppy grows up and becomes more connected to owner?
Not really, that kind of focused heel takes a lot of time and training. Do you need that kind of heel for something you plan to compete in? Because if not, I'd spend my time and effort on training polite loose leash skills instead. My dogs need to walk nicely with me and not pull, but I don't need them staring at my face the entire time so I've never bothered to train that. For the kind of walking we do, it's not really feasible anyway, I can't imagine how hard it would be on the dog's neck to keep that up for miles and miles!

-Debbie-
Cava 1/6/18
Keefer 8/25/05-4/24/19 ~ The sweetest boy
Halo 11/9/08-6/17/18 ~ You left pawprints on our hearts
Dena 9/12/04-10/4/08 ~ Forever would have been too short
Cassidy 6/8/00-10/4/04
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:44 PM