• 2 Post By Jax08
  • 4 Post By Magwart
  • 1 Post By sebrench
  • 1 Post By NancyJ

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-14-2016, 09:44 AM Thread Starter

Prong or choke collar ?

Prong or choke collar ?

I have a 6 month GSD girl - We used to use the gentle leader and it worked great for her but she hated it - walks weren't an enjoyment for her with it on and when she would see it coming she would run around the coffee table to avoid me putting it on her so I would prefer to not get another one. So now I have friends who swear by the choke collar and have trained golden retrievers using choke and it works for them but I hate the idea of the choke collar - I am a newbie and have never used it so I could be wrong and this is why I need you guys who know more or are experts to help me figure out which if the prong is better than the coke collar or what is the best for my GSD for not pulling on leash when walking.

thank you in advance for your help

Last edited by zoey'smom; 06-14-2016 at 09:48 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-14-2016, 10:00 AM
Crowned Member

Personally, I only use a choke collar if I want to suppress an action. It is a quick correction and move on. There are studies that show choke collars damage the trachea when the dog is constantly pulling on it. And German Shepherds aren't Goldens I hate choke collars for anything else.

You can use a prong collar but the most important thing, regardless of the correction collar, is to teach them what y ou want! And you can do that on flat collar or martingale. They need to learn to release to the pressure of the collar.

It's very easy. There are a couple ways I've done it

1) This is very effective
The Domestics of Leash Walking | Naughty Dogge - Monique Anstee