Time for Ecollar? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 05:02 PM Thread Starter

Time for Ecollar?

My Shepherd is European, 25 months old. I have been training him through my breeder since he was about 6 months old. I am currently working on off leash heeling, recalls etc with fairly good success.

Likely ready to be tested for basic obedience.

2 issues: To protective of our yard & house. If I meet people a door or two down from our home he is fine with them. We are working on this.

The second issue is Dog Aggression. Strange as at breeders he is very good but on street I basically have to drag him away. If he runs the fence at one of the neighbour dogs I need to distract him as I take him away as he goes from o (calm) to 100 instantly.

I take him to plaza's etc & heel him. Usually very good but on occasion decides to bark at people. Example in 15 minutes will decide to bark at 1 out of the 50 folks who go by.

Would you recommend continue with the training off lease & then switch to ecollar?

The off lease is done in safe areas & if people are around the lease is dragging for quick access if I need it.

His training & recall is getting good but I guess deep down I know I need 100% compliance.

We recently stated to use an outdoor kennel for him for an hour or two a day. We needed to use a bark collar & after 1 bark, he is quiet outside. I guess that shows he learned quickly.

He is a very solid dog, the breeder calls him hard with a bit of sensitivity. He is an intact male. Our 4th Shepherd in 30 some years.

I guess my questions are the typical ones you hear time and time again. In the past month I started using a prong while training & do not need to correct but helped our pup to maintain correct positions.