Separating Fact from Fiction - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-07-2013, 10:53 PM Thread Starter

Separating Fact from Fiction

My apologies if this has been discussed before, but I have limited experience with German Shepherds and I keep getting 2 pieces of advice from trainers and breeders that I would appreciate feedback on. I currently am dog sitting for a G.S.

1) Always approach a GS from the side, never the front. Approaching from the front may trigger guarding behaviors.

- This happened to me only once, in class. I have interacted with approximately 50 GS's and only encountered a guarding response once, when I approached from the front.

Fact or fiction?

2) I am consistently told that you need to be firm with a GS from the get-go to ensure they do not develop inappropriate guarding behaviors.

Thoughts on this? The most well behaved, well adjusted GS's I've encountered have been raised by people who subscribe to this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-08-2013, 12:37 PM
Crowned Member

You may want to explain what you mean by "inappropriate guarding behaviors".
I am guessing you are referring to the dog lunging, barking, jumping up, biting. So based on that, here are my responses:

1. Always approach from the side - this is good advice for approaching any strange dog. But once the dog knows you, no matter what the breed, you can certainly approach from the front.

2. Need to be firm - yes, you need to be firm with any dog. I mean "firm" in the sense of being consistent in the training. For example, if the dog is trained to sit, he should sit every time the command is given .

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Royal K9s Baron Sting DB 7/9/2017

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sting Chance von Gaard 2006-2017