Kira down / Stay / Here! - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-31-2013, 08:27 PM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

Kira down / Stay / Here!

* Disclaimer: I'm not a professional trainer, so go easy

Anyway, I gave Kira a SUPER TEST of her down / stay / HERE.

As you can see.. she's WAY out there!

I sat her in the far end of an open field. The walk around the open field is about a half mile around. Behind her, and behind me, were some stray cats. To her left were a couple dogs on leash.

I put her in a down / stay, and I walked a few times around the open field. I disappeared into a few bushes from time to time, and popped out at a different location in the park.

Rather than video the whole exercise, I only chose to video the last .45 seconds.

I would love to push her further, and am open to suggestions.

Feel free.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-31-2013, 08:29 PM
Crowned Member

I think you and Kira are doing an awesome job!!

"A House Is Not A Home Without A German Shepherd"
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-31-2013, 11:02 PM
Crowned Member

I think its great that you can do this, but I don't think its necessary to push it further. IMO there is to much distance between you guys and no way for you to get to her if another dog approaches her ready to fight. I would never want to see anything happen to her. Other then that her obedience is great, you should be proud

Misty- Samoyed Mix, Tannor- Golden Retriever CGC
Robyn- GSD CGC, TC, Midnite-GSD CGC,TC, Brennan-Golden Retriever CGC, Batman-Husky/Greyhound , Apollo-GSD
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-31-2013, 11:27 PM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by llombardo View Post