Started training class. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-05-2013, 10:36 PM Thread Starter

Started training class.

So Duncan and I started training class this week. I have heard wonderful things about this trainer. Even have friends who have used him. So you can imagine my shock when he TOLD me I HAD to get a pinch collar for my 14 week old puppy. I love my furball but he is a total ninny. If you even yank on his collar too hard he yelps. So you can imagine what kind of trauma a pinch collar would do to him. I put my size 5 down and will be continuing the class because minus the collar he is good at what he does. I guess I am just shocked. It seems like a shortcut to real training. Has anyone else come across this with a trainer? I had to stop my friend who has Duncans sister from buying a pinch collar. I mean for puppies? Come on.

Casey & Arayna

Duncan Idaho 3-28-2013
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-05-2013, 11:01 PM

Pinch collar on a puppy?

Okay, first of all, proper prong collars don't hurt (put a Herm Sprenger on your thigh or arm and yank it - you'll see what I mean). Slip collars, choke collars and anything that chokes the dog can really cause tracheal/esophageal damage. Of course, any collar used improperly can cause damage to the dog.

But for a trainer to immediately go to the prong is really silly, IMHO. Of course, there are staunch supporters of "this and that" type of training that will hold on to their concepts to the bitter end as gospel.

I think that a puppy needs to be exercised in a lot of fun, then enticed to learn his commands with positive reward. Negative feedback is reserved for when a young dog knows his commands for certain and is rebelling.

That being said, prong collars (the right ones) are actually better than some others.