Need help training an older dog - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-29-2012, 07:43 PM Thread Starter

Need help training an older dog

Hello all ive been a lil inactive on the forum this year but i got a new gsd yesterday randomly. She is 16 months with NO prior training AT ALL not even sit. She is an akc dog comes from an execptional working line. I know i just got her so i still have w few weeks until shes at least used to me. Looking for someone with experience training an older dog. Is it doable by myself whats the reality of my situation? Or should i hire a pro. Im not a pro but ive trained 2 of my own and they are great.
I want to get a few sch titles with her.

She seems timid almost afraid, so i always go up to her and pet and say her name (yanah) in a playful manor. Should i stop doing this and just let her be?

Also she will not use the bathroom on walks, When i know she needs to go.(almost like she doesnt want me to see) But when we get back home she waits until im not around and will do her duty on the carpet.

She dOes the same thing with food when i give it to her she won't eat it. But when i set it down and walk away she peeks around the corner to make sure im gone and devours her meal?

Whats the deal with Yanah? Am i being too pushy having already trained dogs?

HELP ME GUYS!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-29-2012, 08:04 PM

she sounds like she is lacking in confidence and is afraid/unsure.

Do you know anything about her prior life?

I would give her atleast a month of just getting used to you , her new home and surroundings.

IF she's pottying inside, you need to keep an eye on her and take her outside more.

You are expecting way to much from a dog that you got yesterday even tho she's 16 months old it sounds like she hasn't experienced much of anything prior to you getting her?

Schutzhund may not be in the cards for her.